Pyrography Woodburning Tools Review and Comparison Chart

 This page was updated on 11/20/17

Review of the TRUEArt Dual Output Digital Burner Kit has been completed & can be accessed in the chart below

New section listed for burners manufactured in China for use in the USA with new burners listed & verification that the Dremel Versa Tip Multipurpose Tool is still manufactured in the USA

Prices Updated in 2016 - All listed prices are for 120v burners. Prices will be higher for 220/240 v burners.

The prices listed here are based on MSRP (Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price) & may vary from dealer to dealer.

NOTICE: All information on this page has been researched and compiled by me, Nedra Denison. I made the original  review chart back in 2004 for my Pyrographic Art group on Yahoo. It has been updated & expanded over the years & added to this website in 2009. I try to update the prices annually.

Everything on this page, as well as on this web site are copyright protected under the law. It may NOT be copied, reproduced, altered or distributed in any way without written permission from the owner, Nedra Denison.

IT IS IMPORTANT THAT YOU READ THE MAIN PAGE FIRST!

If you have not read it from beginning to end I encourage you to do so before going through this page. The main page includes some very important information including comparison's of  Variable temperature Detail burners vs. Craft burners & Interchangeable tips vs. Fixed-tip handpieces including a comprehensive comparison with key points to consider 

please click  here to go to the Pyrography Reviews Main Page

10/19/17 Update - Nibsburner is not currently being made. Nobody seems to know when/if they will be available again

Pyrography Tools Wattage Controversy

Please note that all the wattages listed below are based on the manufacturer's claims. If you have not already read the information provided on my website regarding the Click here to go to page: The Wattage controversy, mixing & matching burner & pen brands, how tip wires impact performance, etc. I highly recommend that you read it before making a purchase of Pyrography tools. Some of the information was provided to me by Colwood Electronics & Cam Merkle of Razertip Industries. Colwood explains how Pyrography tools work and Cam has provided some very good information regarding wattage, voltage and tip wire and how it impacts on quick heat recovery & ability to heat the tips hotter. The bottom line is forget about wattage & look at what is important in choosing the right burner for your needs.

Differences in Tip Wires & How it Impacts Performance

To read this article please   click on this link to go to the page

Can I mix & match brands of pens & burners?

This is a question I'm constantly asked. The general answer is yes, just about any brand of pen will work on any brand of burner. Some may require an adaptor cord, others can be used without one. I was recently asked if I would guarantee if my pens would work on their burner. My response was...."the better question is would I guarantee that using my brand of pens would not burn out when used on their burner." The reason is that you stand a chance of burning out tips when you use some brands of pens using a standard tip wire on certain burners that are higher voltage & work best with tips made with heavier gauge wire.

Note that just about every brand of burner manufactured in North America can accept every brand of handpiece. You might have to use a different cord or an adaptor (not recommended) but they will all accept other brands of handpieces. While some brands might say they are the only ones, it's really not true. What you need to understand is that while most brands can be mixed & matched the big question is how will handpieces & tips perform on those burners. That is why it's really best to find a burner you like & stick with that brand of pen. You are assured of compatibility.

If you decide to play the mix & match game you must consider the information above regarding tip wires & how they work with different systems. Heavier gauge wires will perform better on 3 volt systems BUT you will loose the fine detail you can best achieve with finer tip wires.

Please be sure to read this information regarding these issues: Wattage, Mixing & Matching Brands, Tip Wire & How it Impacts Performance

Shop, Compare & Ask Questions Before Buying

Keep in mind that manufacturers are going to say their burner is the best & will do more than their competitor & that they have the best customer service. The bottom line is that just about every brand will do just about anything you need in a burner, it's more a question of which brand gives you more confidence & which will meet your needs.

Having great customer service is important but if you have quality control issues & a lot of problems with your product of course you need to have good customer service to deal with the problems. It's those rare companies that have it all: good quality products, good quality control, good warranty, good reputation & good customer service. That is not as common as you might think. To me, you should expect it all & not settle for any less!!!!

Important questions I think you should be asking are: what is the warranty; how does the manufacturer handle problems & service (how long will it take to get work done, do they make you feel like a valued customer when you call); do they have good quality control (or do they have frequent problems); what's their reputation; do they offer tip styles that meet your needs; do they repair tips that break or do you have to buy a new handpiece.  A question that most users can't answer & only some dealers can or will, is...how does this brand compare to others in all of these areas? These are some good, basic questions you should be asking.

While end users, like yourself, might not be able to answer all of these questions since they might have only used one brand of burner & have nothing to compare it with. A good dealer should be able to answer most of your questions. Talking to a dealer who is also a user is very important. All too often dealers/stores have sales people who have never used some of the products they sell so they really can't tell you first hand how it performs or how the quality is.

As a dealer, I expect the companies I represent to take care of my customers. I expect them to manufacture good quality products consistently without a lot of manufacturing defects & I expect that they can provide quality products & service in a timely manner to me as well as my customers. If they fail to meet my expectations they are fired! My customers are important & that means I want to be sure they get the best quality product that is reliable & should they ever run into a problem I am confident it will be handled professionally & in a timely manner.

Don't be afraid to ask questions. This is not a small investment so you want to make the right decision the first time & not have regrets & end up needing to upgrade later. I know what that's like because I've been there & I think it's important to get it right the first time!

Some last minute things to keep in mind

OK, you’ve read all about the Wattage Controversy, How Pyrography Tools Work & How Different Tip Wires Impact Performance (If you haven't click on the link & read it). Now it's time to read up on the various brands & models.

First I recommend buying compatible products. If you are buying a 2 volt system don’t buy pen/tips that are made for a 3 volt system & visa versa & expect them to perform as well as they would on the system they were designed to work on. So what you really need to look at are the company's reputation, features of the wood burning systems, the pens & tips available, the price, customer service, warranty, etc. Make your choice based on all of those items and most important....what you can afford, Do not make your decision based on WATTAGE claims!!!

Do you Want a Craft Burner or Variable Temperature Detail Burners?

Before you consider buying either of these types of burners I recommend you read the main page of this section in it's entirety. It has a very thorough description of each type of burner as well as comparison's. This will help you make the decision as to which type of burner is best for your needs. Please click on the link here to go to the main Reviews page to read all the information Pyrography Reviews Page

Things to Consider Before You Buy Tools Manufactured in China

ADDED 10/4/17: Over the years I have seen most craft burners & recently some variable temperature burners pop up that are being manufactured in China. In most cases when you see them on websites they do not mention that they are made in China.

I have also been getting a lot of feedback from people over the years about the poor quality. Craft style burners made in China frequently have issues with tips breaking because they are not as sturdy as those made in the USA. The tips loosen while working, the handpiece gets hot or the burner just stops working. I have also read the same things in online reviews. All of these reported issues started when brands like Walnut Hollow (previously manufactured by Wall Lenk) chose to have their burners made in China. Labor is cheap, quality is poor but who cares if they are selling more tools & making more money! I own a Wall Lenk burner 30 watt craft burner & have had it for over 15 years. It has never failed me. The tips have never broken or bent & it is a real workhorse. I don't use it as often as my Razertip but I use it whenever I need to do large dark areas such as backgrounds.

Yes, you save money up front because brands made in China are almost always cheaper than their counterparts made in North America. The reason is that labor & materials are cheaper in China. But, as the saying goes..."you get what you pay for" & in this case you pay a price for that in the long run when you have to buy a replacement...The quality of the products, the materials as well as the workmanship are inferior & cannot be compared to the tools that are manufactured in North America. Good quality tools should last a very long time. My Razertip tools have lasted 15+ years just as my Wall Lenk has lasted that long.

I've been selling gourd & pyrography tools since 1999 & only once did I ever represent a company that has their gourd saws made in China. I stopped selling them when I started getting complaints about the poor quality (just as I fire other companies when I start getting a lot of complaints about poor quality or service. Since then I have refused to sell or recommend any tools that are made in China.

It's very hard to find anything these days that isn't made in China. When you do find them you really need to consider if it is worth spending money on tools made in China when you can get one that is made in North America by companies that take pride in their product, their brand & refuse to move their manufacturing out of their hands & move it to China.

It's still comforting to know that there are still manufacturers who refuse to produce & put their name on poor quality tools just so they can compete with the products made in China. Granted there are companies that still manufacture in the USA who don't take pride in producing good quality tools &/or good customer service but I have found that they are in the minority or are now out of business.

About me & why I started these reviews

I started these reviews many years ago because I constantly got calls from people asking for a recommendation. Over the years while I was teaching I had the opportunity to use every brand manufactured in North America. It was a great opportunity to see how they performed on a variety of surfaces. I also sold many of the brands at one time or another but for one reason or another I opted to drop the line. I have tried to keep these reviews unbiased & I think I've done a good job of keeping my personal opinions out of these reviews. I get a lot of feedback from former students & customers & that information is used here. Over the years I have heard from so many people that it's hard to find all the information in one place & how happy they were to find a resource that is FREE. It's nice to get feedback from your friends who love their burner but does that give you the big picture about the overall quality, quality control or the customer service of a company? The answer to that is no. Unless you talk to someone who has dealt with unhappy customers with complaints, defective products, poor customer service etc. you will only hear from your friends who are happy with their tools & have had no problems. These reviews are really not "reviews" in the sense that I make recommendations but it is a tool to help you see all the options, prices, features of the burners, where to find them, etc. It's just intended as a tool...a starting place to gather information, It is not going to tell you what YOU NEED but provide you with general information of what is out there.

People who have contact me directly know that I try to be honest & up front when asked for recommendations based on their needs. Yes, I sell pyrography tools but no, I don't push people into buying what I sell. I try to help them find what would be best for their needs & I don't sugar coat things & in many cases I end up recommending a craft style burner vs. variable temperature burners which is all I sell now.

I am not from the "Show me state" but that's my philosophy & if you have contacted me for a recommendation or bought from me you know that to be true. I need proof that a product is good & that a company's service is good before I tell anyone it is. If you call me I will try to be honest, not because I want you to buy the product I sell but because I want you to be happy with what you bought, whether it be from me or someone else. I won't die rich but I can look at myself in the mirror & like what I see (except for those age lines that are starting to show up)!

About this chart

This chart is for informational purposes only. It is not intended as an endorsement for any particular brand. While I have personally used most of these over the years & have sold some of the brands the intent of this review was to provide you with some information regarding models, options & prices all in one location. Some of the comments are based on my experience using them or they have been submitted to me by other users & former students. This information is not intended as a recommendation or endorsement of any products.

If you have questions about a specific brand the chart has links to the dealer or manufacturer for that particular brand. They will be happy to answer questions about the burners they make &/or sell.

If you have questions about any of the information on this page or the chart please feel free to contact me directly.

This section was updated on 10/22/17

Am I picky, you bet I am....& you should be too!

Thanks for stopping by & happy hunting!

Happy Burning ©,

Nedra Denison signature.

NOTICE: All information on this page has been researched and compiled by Nedra Denison. Everything on this page, as well as on this web site are copyright protected under the law. It may NOT be copied, reproduced, altered or distributed in any way without written permission from the owner, Nedra Denison.


 
MANUFACTURER

MODEL NUMBER

MSRP & What is included with the Woodburner

prices for extra pens/tips

Prices for burners are listed with fixed-tip Pen (tip built into the Pen.

Some dealers offer discounts.

Prices were updated July 22, 2015 but are subject to change.

TYPE OF
BURNER

FEATURES

# of pen/tip styles available;

pens: grips, hot running, polished wires, grips

Adaptability with other wood burning tools

# volts/wattage (please read the information regarding the wattage controversy)

WARRANTY

COMMENTS

WHERE YOU CAN BUY

Burnmaster®

Burnmaster®   Pen

Burnmaster Pen.

$29.95

Comes with w/screwdriver and Razertip adaptor.

Wood burning pen only, Single temperature with no temperature control. Plugs into burner for control

Temperature is controlled by being plugged into a regular wood burning power supply (such as Razertip, Colwood, Nibsburner, etc.).

Accepts all hotwire burning tips including Burnmaster, Colwood, Detailmaster, Nibsburner and Razertip. No adaptor is required except for Razertip (comes supplied with this adaptor).

Pens may run hot at higher temperatures.

1 year warranty against manufacturing defects

I have not received any feedback from users. If you have used this burner & can give me some feedback please contact me.

Large handpiece very similar to craft burners may make it uncomfortable for some people to use. Plugs into most brands of woodburners. Comes with screwdriver and a Razertip adaptor.

This Burnmaster® Pen was unique (TRUEArt now offers one but it is made in China) in that it is the only pen to accept replaceable tips & power from all major brands of "hot wire" wood burning systems.

The Mastercarver website states that this pen is made in the USA.

www.woodcarverssupply.com

Burnmaster®

Hawk - 1 port

Burnmaster.

$143.95

w/1 cord and adaptor set. Price does not include any Pen or tips.

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

This is a 3 Volt system but the new Burnmaster systems have a micro adjustable maximum power (1-volt - 3-volts). For example the maximum
can be set to 2-volts maximum for (Razertip pen users).

Pilot light, on/off switch, temperature control. Does not come with pens but accommodates any brand of pen.

Pens may run hot at higher temperatures.

3 years against manufacturing defects

Great burner with quick heat recovery and maintains heat; flexible cord but heavy.

Later model Burnmaster's have a micro heat adjustment to adjust the high & low settings. If your model has this option it can be found in the instructions to make the adjustment are in the manual that came with your burner.

Also available in 230 volt European version

Neither the Mastercarver or Woodcarvers Supply sites state where Burnmaster tools are manufactured but a friend of mine recently contacted Mastercarver directly & this was their response: "We assemble our patented Burnmaster products in Grove City Florida".

www.woodcarverssupply.com

Burnmaster®

Eagle - 2 port

Eagle - 2 port.

$173.95

w/2 cords and adaptor sets. Price does not include any Pen or tips.

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Same as Hawk except switch to change pens.

Same as Hawk

Same as Hawk

Colwood

Craft Burner #CCB25 w/1 tip

Craft Burner.

$15.99

Includes 1 universal tip

Tip package (#CCBTP) $15.95 includes 19 tips

Single temperature craft style burner

25 watts

Accepts most screw-in style tips such as Wall Lenk brand.

unknown

Their customer Service leaves something to be desired. Several people have told me that when they have called they got the feeling that they didn't want to be bothered.

 

This burner is made for Colwood by Wall Lenk (USA). Having used a Wall Lenk craft burner for years this burner should be the same fine quality as all their wood burning tools & at a very reasonable price.

Keep in mind that this type of burner is not intended for detail work.

This pen is also an excellent value for the money!

Tips are interchangeable with Dremel, Walnut Hollow and Wall Lenk. Manufactured by Wall Lenk. Burner and tips are manufactured in the USA by Wall Lenk.

www.woodburning.com

Colwood

The Cub

The Cub.

$65.75

w/HD cord. Price does not include any pens or tips.

Fixed-tip pens range from $18.40-22.40 depending on options such as foam vs. cork grip & polished tips

Replaceable tips range from $12.40 ($3.00 extra for polished tips)

Polished tips $3.00 extra

Foam grip $1.00

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

 

Single output

3 volt/38-42 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

100 variations of 40 tip styles

(available in fixed-tip or interchangeable)

Pens can be ordered with foam grips & polished tips at additional cost. Pens can be adapted to most burners.

Handpieces are not vented

Pens can get hot at higher temperatures.

2 years on body,

90 days on cord

Cord is permanently attached to the burner & cannot be fixed or replaced.

Small, inexpensive and great for travel, perfect for the new burner on a budget but wanting a variable temperature detail burner.

Manufacturer does not fix broken tips. Not always consistent on pen manufacture. Polished tips are not highly polished as some other manufacturers.

Manufactured in the USA

http://woodburning.com/

Colwood

Detailer

Detailer.

$79.75

$102.75 220v for International use only

w/1 - HD 16 gauge cord (also available w/1-18 gauge cord). Price does not include any pens or tips.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Single output

3 volt/38-42 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above.

2 yr. on burner

1 year on handpiece cord

90 days on Fixed-Tip Handpieces

90 days on Replaceable tips

This is a good basic burner at a very good price. Quick heat recovery.

This model is also available in 220 volt European version

Manufacturer does not fix broken tips. Not always consistent on pen manufacture.

Foam grips & polished tips are available at extra charge. I have found that their polished tips are not highly polished like other brands but perhaps they have improved their polishing process since I used them.

Manufactured in the USA

http://woodburning.com/

Colwood

SuperPro II

SuperPro II.

$109.00

$130.50 220v for International use only

w/1-18 gauge cord and 1-16 gauge cord. Price does not include any pens or tips.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Dual output

3 volt/36-46 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above.

same as Detailer

A very good dual output burner at a very reasonable price. This is the burner I started out with back in the late 90's. I liked it but was not happy with the pens which did not have polished tips. Although they started offering that option I found that they did not adequately polish them & they weren't interested in improving on it.

This model is also available in 220 volt European version

Other information same as above

Colwood

Olympiad

Colwood Olympiad with Hot Pen & Tips.

Colwood Olympiad Ultra Flex Cord.

$225.00

w/1-18 gauge cord. Price Includes hot knife & 2 tips

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Single output

3 volt/60 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above.

same as Detailer

A bit pricey for a single temp burner but a good burner that now has the flexibility to use a Hot knife when higher heat is needed or for heavy insertion work, sign makers, etc.

It also accommodates all Replaceable and Fixed-tip handpieces made by Colwood.

According to Colwood's website: "New to the Olympiad is the 120V 10amp receptacle located on the back of the unit that can be used to power such accessories as lamps, fans, tools, etc. Also, a 3 wire line cord for additional safety. Recently added is special circuitry that will compensate for fluctuations in line voltage".

Not available in 220 volt European version

Other information same as above

Colwood

Galaxy

Galaxy.

$190.00

w/1-18 gauge cord. Price does not include any pens or tips.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Digital Temp Control w/55 distinct temperature settings.

Single output.

Digital Temp Control w/55 distinct temperature settings.

3 volt/50 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pen information, styles/tips same as above.

4 year on manufacturing defects

90 days on cord

Digital temperature control may help if you have problems with low voltage. It maintains the temperature setting.

Other information same as above

Not available in 220 volt European version

Detail Master

NOTICE: The company is out of business.

If you need a tip replaced Razertip can repair or replace tips on Detailmaster handpieces. If you need a new handpieces for use on your Detailmaster burner you can use Razertip handpieces with a Detailmaster adaptor cord available on my website: Razertip Pyrography Tools

Dremel®

1550 Versa tip Multipurpose Tool w/5 Tips and stand

Great Book of Woodburning

$34.61

comes with 5 interchangeable tips

Single temperature craft style burner

Can accommodate any screw-style interchangeable tip such as those made by Wall Lenk.

1050 degrees maximum, 30 watts.

30-Day money back guarantee,

1 -Year manufacturer warranty

Tips are interchangeable with Colwood, Walnut Hollow and Wall Lenk.

Keep in mind that this type of burner is not intended for fine detail work.

UPDATE 10/4/17: I spoke with Dremel & they confirmed that his tool is still manufactured in the USA

You can also find the Dremel & Wall Lenk on my Amazon Associates link in my website. Just click the link below:

Dremel Tool Kits

Everglades

Patriot PRO-1000 Single Output

Everglades Patriot 1000

$130.00

Includes: 1 fixed-tip pen, 1 cord & 1 pen holder

Arizona Gourds is the only dealer & this is the only burner option she offers.

Manufacturer only offers a 3 pen & 5 pen kit option on his eBay page. $159.95/$139.95

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Pilot light, on/off switch

65 watts

Manufacturer's EBay page does not list whether this is a 2 volt or 3 volt system

They now offer many of the same tip styles made by other manufacturers such as the ball tips & bent spear shader.

Power Supply has a 2 year warranty: 1 year parts & labor; 2nd year parts are free

Pen has a 90 day warranty against burnout

Pen cord (60 day warranty) against defects

 

 

I have no information available about performance, service, overall quality.

If you have an Everglades burner & can give me some feedback please contact me.

Manufacturer does not have a website but he does sell on eBay.

 www.arizonagourds.com

Burner and tips are manufactured in the USA

Nibsburner

First Step
P1315

Nibsburner First Step Burner.

 

$117.95

INCLUDES:

1 Standard Cord

1 Handpiece Holder

1 Vented Woodburning FIXED TIP Handpiece with 1 Chisel (1D) Tip **OR**

1 Vented Woodburning REPLACEABLE TIP Handpiece with 1 Chisel (1D) Tip


Heat Selector Dial & On/Off Switch are together

 Power Indicator Light

Single output

3 volt/50 watts

Pens built for a 2 volt system tend to get hot & may burn out if you do not use care.

Pens can be adapted to most burners. When Alice was making them they required an adaptor/cord for use on Razertip or Detailmaster. Information on Welburn's website states it fits on Razertip without one but viewing them it appears they are the same as previously made.

This is a good basic entry level burner. I recommend this for children but most adults will find this disappointing.

Information taken from Nibsburner website:

"We guarantee all burners for two years from the date of purchase.

Handpieces and tips are guaranteed for 90 days from the date of purchase with normal use.

Returns must comply with this policy."

These warranties are the same.

UPDATE 8/19/17: While the Nibsburner website is still online it is no longer updated & none of the dealers listed carry Nibsburner anymore. Mountain Woodcarvers, a long time Nibsburner dealer, still has no product after more than a year of waiting. They told me that all the employees building the burners at Welburn have quit & there is nobody left making them.

Nibsburner is also no longer on Welburn Gourd Farm's website (& they bought the company about a year ago) so it looks like Nibsburner is out of business again but nobody really knows for sure what is going on.

While the Nibsburner website still says it's manufactured in the USA there's no way to confirm this information.

Welburn Gourd Farms bought Nibsburner over a year ago & none of the listed dealers have been able to get product & now even Welburn has any burners on their website.

The information I have posted in this chart is the same as what was here previously except for pricing. The prices I have listed & what comes with each burner was obtained from the Nibsburner website although I'm not sure how accurate the prices are since it is not the same as those that were on Welburn Gourd Farm's website. Welburn's prices are higher than they were before they bought the company but they offer  "FREE" gifts for the higher price LOL.

At the moment it appears that the only models available are the First Step, Red Hot (Welburn calls this the "Classic") & Best of Show (Welburn calls this the Deluxe Dual Output).

NOTE:: If you have recently purchased a Nibsburner (& are NOT an employee or associated with Welburn Gourd Farm) please contact me with some feedback on the products & any other information that will help prospective buyers. As of this date I have gotten no feedback from anyone about Nibsburner.

If I get some feedback from verified customers who have purchased Nibsburner since it changed hands I will post the comments here.

 

Gourd Unit
P1400

Nibsburner Gourd Unit Burner.


$132.95

INCLUDES:

1 Standard Cord

2 Handpiece Holders

1 FIXED TIP Handpiece With 1 Spoon Shader (SP1) Tip

1 FIXED TIP Handpiece with 1 Small Knife (KN3) Tip

Same as above

Single output

 3 volt/58 watts

Read notice above about using pens built for 2 volt systems.

This a very good general purpose burner suitable for gourds, softer woods & many other surfaces

Same as above

 

Red Hot
P1339

Nibsburner Red Hot Burner.

$137.95

INCLUDES:

1 Cord

1 Handpiece Holder

1 Vented Handpiece with Chisel (1D) Tip

Heat Selector Dial & separate On/Off Switch

 Power Indicator Light

Single output

 3 volt/65 watts

Read notice above about using pens built for 2 volt systems.

This a very good general purpose burner suitable for gourds, softer woods & many other surfaces

 
 

Blue Ribbon
P1381

Nibsburner Blue Ribbon Burner.

$176.95

INCLUDES:

2 Cords

2 Handpiece Holders

2 Vented Handpieces

1 Tight Round (2C) Tip and 1 Chisel (1D) Tip

Same as above

Dual output

2volt/115 watts

Read notice above about using pens built for 2 volt systems.

This a very good general purpose burner suitable for gourds, softer woods & many other surfaces

Same as above

 

Best of Show
P1381B

Nibsburner Best of Show Burner.

$205.95

INCLUDES:

2 Cords

2 Handpiece Holders

2 Vented Handpieces

1 Tight Round (2C) Tip and 1 Chisel (1D) Tip

Same as above

Dual output

3 volt/145 Watts

Read notice above about using pens built for 2 volt systems.

This is the only dual output burner that offers each  handpiece its own heat control that can be preset.

Same as above

Optima

Optima 1 Single

Optima 1 Single Output Burner.

$107.00/$109.00

w/1 cord & 1 pen (standard/ HD cord)

fixed-tip
pens: $20.00

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Single output

40 watts

Pens can be adapted to most burners with an adaptor cord.

34 tip styles and sizes

fixed-tip
pens only & the handpieces are not vented

Pens come with polished tips and foam grips.

Pens may run hot at higher temperatures.

Lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects on power supply, cord and pen body

Pen tips are not covered.

Good burner with quick heat recovery and very flexible cords

Pens DO NOT need to be (and should not be) annealed!

Also available in 220/240 volt but he does not replace the 120v cord. According to the website: "We do make 220/240V AC versions of all of our tools. It only costs $2.00 more, as we add an AC adapter jack to make our US jack compatible with European wall sockets"

UPDATE 8/19/17: I have always tried to remain impartial but honest with my comments & reviews but sometimes being honest is not politically correct because it means I might step on some toes. I've struggled with this for over 15 years but I have finally decided it's better to be honest than to hold my tongue & not be upfront with the experiences I & retail customers have experienced with the company over the years.

Optima has always been a good product & Optima was once a great company with orders shipping in a timely manner & an owner that was honest, reliable & very professional. Unfortunately all that changed when the company was sold. Not long after the company was sold I was forced to stop selling their products. The reasons: lies about orders shipping when they hadn't ( I waited months for orders that never arrived), VERY slow service & a foul mouthed owner who's vocabulary seems to consists of a lot of 4 letter words. It's been 15+ years & it seems that some things never change but in this case I had hoped it would change.

Since I stopped selling Optima over 15 years ago I started getting calls from angry & frustrated people who had gone through the same things I had. I can't say I was surprised but I had really hoped that my long conversation with Pat when he called me after he discovered I started selling Razertip would help him change his ways. I told him why I moved on & that if he didn't clean up his act he would lose other dealers & ultimately retail customers. He practically begged me to come back but as they say..."once burned twice shy" but in this case it was more like....3+ strikes you are out! As I told him, dealers can't stay in business if they can't get product & I found a company that handles business professionally & in spite of being in Canada I got orders in less than two weeks rather than months (or never) & over the years they have never disappointed me. There was no way I was going back to dealing with chaos, lies & a foul mouth.

So, yes I can really empathize with all the people who have called me over the years. I continue to get calls from time to time & I continue to try to smooth the ruffled feathers. It's hard to make things right for what another person has done but I do the best I can.

 Why I decided to finally be open about these issues...the last straw: On 8/18/17 I got a phone call from a woman who was very upset. She didn't want to buy anything from me but she said she needed help & from what she read on my site she thought I was someone that would try to help her. She told me that not only has she been waiting over a month for something to be shipped but she had to put up with a foul mouth (what a surprise...lots of 4 letter words) & inappropriate rantings from the owner of Optima every time she called. She was afraid to call back again & have to put up with it so she called me for help. I did the best I could to help her out but  this was the last straw for me. As they say, it was the straw that broke the camel's back & I decided I could no longer hold my tongue. Will I continue to try to help people if they call? You're darned right I will but it was time for me to do the right thing.

The bottom line...Yes, Optima is a good product but if you order direct from the company you might have to wait a while to get it. If you call the company don't be surprised if you get to hear a foul mouth & a lot of ranting blaming everyone but himself for his problems. If you have a problem & ship something back to the company you will probably have to wait a while to get it back.

 It's a shame that other people have to soothe ruffled feathers created by a person who should be working harder to keep customers instead of working hard to chase them away.

What the worst part of all this is that rather than assuming any responsibility for his own actions & trying to do better, he is in denial & continually blames other people for his problems.

NOTE: Manufacturers website has not been updated since 2015 so prices may not be accurate.

Manufactured in the USA

www.carvertools.com

Optima

Optima 1 Dual

Optima 1 Dual Output Burner.

$149.00/$153.00

w/2 cords & 2 pens (standard/ HD cords)

Electronic Temp Control

Dual output

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Same as above
Razertip®

SK Single Output

 Razertip SK Single Output Woodburner with HD Cord and HD5MP Fixed-Tip Pen

$163.95

w/HD cord & 1 HD pen

All handpieces are vented

HD fixed-tip
pens $32.50

Standard fixed-tip
pens $28.50

Interchangeable tips vary in price from: $6.00 - 6.25 (This does not include specialty tips such as Feather Formers)

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Pens built for a 2 volt system can get hot and may burn out when you do not use care if used on a 3 volt system.

2 volts/10 amps/30 watts

On/off switch, temperature control and pilot light

Over 800 pen tip styles and configurations.

250 tip styles & sizes (fixed-tip
pens or Interchangeable tips); wires & handle available to make your own tips.

Pens may run hot at higher temperatures.

Pens can be adapted to most burners with an adaptor cord.

3 year unconditional on power source

1 year unconditional on pen and tip

Great burner; comfortable, vented pens w/foam grip; quick heat recovery; very flexible cords; 10 amp; pens can be adapted to most burners but I do not recommend using them on 3 volt systems unless you turn the heat down. Please read the information above regarding the differences in tip wires made for 2 volt systems vs. 2 volt systems.

Dealers may sell power supply with different pens, cord options & number of cords that come with the Dual Output Burner packages.

Also available in 220 - 240 volt EU & GB versions

Pens DO NOT need to be (and should not be) annealed!

All fixed-tip pen tips can be fixed. $6.00 charge after warranty. They will fix any brand of pen tip for $7.00 - $8.00

Best quality, quality control, customer service and warranty in the industry.

Manufactured in the Canada

www.sawdustconnection.com

Razertip®

SS-D10 Dual Output

 Razertip SS-D10 Dual Output Woodburner with HD & Std Cords and HD5MP Fixed-Tip Pen

$202.50

w/1 HD pen & 1 HD cord

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Dealers may offer other options such as including an additional cord

Electronic temperature control w/variable temperature

Dual output

Same as above but has extra low-end temperature adjustment; on/off switch, toggle to switch pens and pilot light

Pen information, styles/tips same as above

Same as above

Same as above

 

CRAFT STYLE BURNERS & OTHER BURNERS MANUFACTURED IN CHINA FOR USE IN THE USA

NOTE: While I have never reviewed any Hot Pen's I have included the TRUEArt Hot Pen Digital Detail Burner

BRAND NAME

MODEL #  or NAME OF MODEL MSRP & What's Included TYPE OF BURNER FEATURES WARRANTY COMMENTS & WHERE TO BUY
TRUEArt

Wood and Leather Pyrography Pen

Photo below shows the same pen but with the additional tips

$29.95

Includes: 1 tip

Craft Style Burner

 

Unique Stainless Steel handpiece with a heat & impact resistant rubber handle

Offers a unique switch that turns the burner off & dual 30 watt & 15 watt heat options. The lower heat setting is suitable for use on leather

The company claims it heats quickly & retains heat better than other craft burners.

The handpiece on this is very similar to the Wall Lenk with the dual heat shield but this one has a dual heat setting.

Unknown

UPDATED INFORMATION 10/22/17: I spent a few days testing out the Dual Output Detail burner kit & putting it through it's paces. I am attaching a link to the complete review in a pdf file.

Please Click here to read my review!  Please read the copyright information regarding use of this review.

Reviewing their website & some of their information I got the impression that they lack experience with these tools & with pyrography in general. This was actually confirmed by the owner of TRUEArt in our conversations.

I'm not sure why someone would start a business like this with no experience with pyrography or the needs of pyrographers. Liking the art form doesn't give you expertise to start a company & then find a manufacturer in China.

Based on many complaints of poor quality from customers & the fact that the company is replacing a lot of products there is a problem & it needs to be worked out before selling more burners to unsuspecting customers who read good reviews written by people who were "recruited to write a review on Amazon in exchange for a free woodburner". Who wouldn't write a good review just to get a free burner? After reading them it was apparent that most most of the good reviews were from people with no experience or means of comparing it to similar products.

To quote the owner:  "So far quality and process is not satisfactory. So... it is work in progress"....well, the work in progress should have happened before they were sold to the public, not after you start replacing defective products.

I did NOT test out the craft burners so I cannot offer any feedback regarding them but just about all craft burners are made in China except Colwood, Dremel & Wall Lenk (all made by Wall Lenk) so I assume these are of similar quality which is not as good as those made in the USA.

At this point I cannot & will not recommend any of TRUEArt products until the owner has made some drastic changes & perhaps actually learned something about pyrography!

Made in China

TRUEArt


Wood and Leather Pyrography Pen Kit

 

TRUEArt Wood & Leather Pyrography Kit.

Photo above shows the pen & accessories that come with this kit

$69.95

Includes 34 Different Tips

Craft Style

Same as above but comes with 34 tips.

Same as above

TRUEArt

Woodburning Machine Kit 25w

$109.95

Includes: 8 wire tips for various types of burning

Adjustable heat



USA 110V plug

 

1450F max temperature (without load)

Same as above

Not much information available on this yet other than what is on the TRUEArt's website

TRUEArt

 

Digital Detail Single-Output Burner Kit 60w

$229.95

Includes: 20 tips, 1 handpiece & holder

Comes with tools to insert the tips into the handpiece & sanding files

Digital Variable Temperature

Single Output

USA 110V Plug

1550F max temperature

The cord appears to be permanently attached to the handpiece


Same as above

Not much information available on these products.

Please read my comprehensive review of the Digital Detail burner that is listed above.

I also recommend you read my sheet comparing the Fixed-Tip Handpiece to Interchangeable tips. click here to read

Made in China

TRUEArt

 

 

NOTE: All photos shown here were taken by me when I was testing this unit

Digital Detail Burner Kit 60w

TrueArt Handpiece compared to Craft Burner.

TRUEArt Handpiece compared with Craft Burner

$299.95

Includes: 20 tips 2 handpieces & 2 handpiece holders

TrueArt Handpiece compared to Razertip HD Handpiece.

Comparison of tip size & distance of the tip from the handpiece grip

Same as the above unit except for additional terminal.

Comparison of Razertip "general pyrograpy" tips & similar TRUEArt.

Comparison of the size of the general purpose tips made by Razertip & those made by TRUEArt.

 



Dual Output

Other info the same as the above unit

 

Razertip & TRUEArt close-up of round-heeled knife.

Close-up of the Round-heeled knife sizes & distance. This is a good example of their idea of the size difference in what they are shipping with their burners.

Same as above

 

 

TRUEArt Carrying Case & Burner.

The photo above shows the carrying case & burner

Same as above except Dual Output. The only difference is the number of "terminals" to connect a pen.

Please Click here to read my review! Please read the copyright information regarding use of this review.

NOTE: Just about every tip that comes with these burners is too small for most work unless you are making jewelry. The owner admitted he had no idea about what people doing general pyrography would need in terms of tip shapes or sizes.

Keep in mind that this is not a fine detail burner with traditional handpieces. This is what I will refer to as a hybrid. It is a cross between a craft burner & a detail burner. The handpiece is commonly referred to as a "hot pen" by manufacturers in the USA who have been making similar pens for many years. Burnmaster's Hot Pen will work on either of their burners & Colwood's Hot Knife works only on their Olympiad but you can also use any of the traditional pens on the burner so it's a lot more versatile than TRUEArt's.

What TRUEArt has brought to the market is not new or even innovative. They are copying features already being manufactured in the USA from companies that have been around for a long time & actually have experience with pyrography & the needs of pyrographers.

While his price might be slightly cheaper you are getting a product manufactured in China with already proven poor quality from day 1.He has been very good about replacing the defective products but what's going to happen when the warranty is up or he goes out of business?

The issues he's facing now should have been resolved before offering them for sale to the public!

In all honestly he should actually have done a lot more homework before jumping into a business he knows nothing about. He should at least know more than what he learned using a craft burner as a child & more than the people he's marketing to but he knows nothing about pyrography or the tools needed. & then try to have a company in China make tools for you when you don't even know what you should be having them make?

             
Wall Lenk

L23WBK w/2 tips

Wall Lenk L23WBK Woodburning Tool.

$18.99

Includes: Woodburning tips - WB25KT, WB25PT, and WB25ST

Single Temp

775 degrees maximum; 18 watts.

Wood handle

with single heat shield. 4 different screw-in style wood burning tips: Flow, cone, shader, universal.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

5 year on manufacturing defects

Good burner for children with supervision.

Great burners but hard to find some of the models. Wall Lenk is considered a "Craft Style Burner" & is not intended for detail work.

It is made in the USA & the best quality on the market. They also manufacture the Dremel brand & the Colwood Craft Burner. None of these are intended for fine detail work.

Not available in 220 volt European version

Wall Lenk burners & tips are Manufactured in the USA

You can also find Wall Lenk from my Amazon Associates link in my website. Just click the link below:

Wall Lenk Woodburning Tools

Wall Lenk

L25WBK w/2 tips

$25.99

Includes Woodburning tips - WB25KT, WB25PT, and WB25ST

Single Temp

950 degrees; 25 watts.

Thicker plastic handle with single heat shield.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

Same tips as above

same as above

Same as above but more power.

This is NOT recommended for children

Wall Lenk

L30WBK w/4 tips

Wall Lenk L30WBK-W woodburner.

27.99

Includes: Woodburning tips - WB25KT, WB25PT, and WB25ST

Single Temp

1060 degrees maximum; 30 watts.

Thicker plastic handle with a dual heat shield to protect the hand.

Handle remains cooler.

Same tips as above.

same as above

Burns hotter than others. It is a good burner for people with experience using a "Craft Style Burner". The double heat shield keeps hand from getting hot.

This is NOT recommended for Children

I've used this burner for over 10 years and love it! It does a great job of burning dark areas fast but it is NOT a detail burner.

Also available in a 10-in-1 kit with extra tips and case that is very popular and a great kit.

Other information same as above

Walnut Hollow

Creative Beginner #24911

Prices vary

with 1 point (flow) and pen stand

Single Temp

Interchangeable tips (screw) available separately: Tapered point, Universal, Mini Universal, Cone, Flow Point, Mini Flow Point, Shading, Tone n Texture.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

Per manufacturer, no warranty

750 °/120 Volts/16.5 Watts. All of the craft burners that are manufactured in China have shorter life span. Tips are thinner and not solid and tend to break more frequently.

These are "Craft Style Burners" & not intended for detail work.

The burners & tips are manufactured in China

http://www.walnuthollow.com/

Walnut Hollow

Creative Woodburner Value Burner #5570

Prices vary

w/4 points (cone, shading, universal, flow points) and stand

Single Temp

Pen tips same as above.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

same as other models

950 degrees/120 volts/25 watts;

Other information same as above

Walnut Hollow

Creative Woodburner Detailer #24414

Prices vary

with 1 point (mini flow) and stand

Single Temp

Pen tips same as above.

Handle gets hot after long periods of use.

same as other models

750 degrees/120 volts/16.5 watts

Other information same as above